Progress Reporting, Writeshop highlight Geo-SAFER Prep for Year 2 Renewal

Share : 

BUTUAN CITY - To assess the progress of the program’s first year of implementation and to prepare for its upcoming Year 2 renewal, the Geo-Informatics for the Systematic Assessment of Flood Effects and Risks Towards a Resilient Mindanao (Geo-SAFER Mindanao) conducted a Program Meeting, Progress Reporting and Writeshop on March 16-17, 2018 at Almont Inland Hotel, Butuan City.

The attendees listened as the accomplishments of Geo-SAFER Western Mindanao was presented by Engr. Daniel Mostrales, Chief SRS of MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology

Engr. Arthur M. Amora, Chief SRS, presented the current progress of the Geo-SAFER Agusan Project of Caraga State University

Engr. Jim Loui Alburo, Chief SRS, presented the progress report of Geo-SAFER Northen Mindanao/Cotabato implemented by Central Mindanao University

Representing Geo-SAFER ZamBaSulTa of Ateneo de Zamboanga University, Mr. Emir Epino, Chief SRS,  presented the project's Progress Report

The said event was participated by the Project Leaders, Chief Science Research Specialists and Project Development Officers of the program’s component projects implemented by five (5) Higher Education Institutions namely: Caraga State University (CSU), Ateneo de Zamboanga University (ADZU), Central Mindanao University (CMU), Mindanao State University- Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) and University of the Philippines Mindanao (UPMin). The different technical team heads and the project staffs of Caraga State University also participated in the event.

Geo-SAFER Mindanao Program Leader, Engr. Meriam Santillan, discussed about the agenda of the activity along with the expected outputs for the writeshop

The Geo-SAFER Mindanao Project Leaders and Researchers posed for a commemorative photo with Ms. Edna Nacianceno (bottom, 3rd from left) and Ms. May-Rose Pariñas (bottom, 4th from left) of DOST-PCIEERD

Among the highlights of the activity was the presentation of progress reports of the HEIs, project leaders’ meeting and presentation of crafted workplans for Year 2. Ms. Edna Nacianceno, Chief SRS and Ms. May-Rose Pariñas, SRS II, representatives from the Emerging Technology Development Division (ETDD) of the Department of Science and Technology-Philippine Council for Industry, Energy and Emerging Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD), the program’s funding agency, also attended in order to monitor the event.